A Post About a Smile

There are certain things that take a day that is just okay, that is fine but not bad, not special, nothing more. There are certain things that take this day and make it a day that will mean something. That does mean something.That makes you feel something, feel special or noticed or appreciated.

It is a unique feeling to feel missed. To know that your presence meant something to someone. To know that they are happy just to see you again, just to feel you back, because they noticed that you had left. You left a hole when you were gone. I can’t help but crave that feeling, to relish it. It makes you feel that your presence is more than ordinary.

Or is it just that they noted you. Really felt that you were there to begin with.

I pull my bike up to the church for my women’s group meeting, and three women are walking up at the same time. They see me, they smile. Their step quickens, if ever so slightly.

Shikenu mwani! They say, smiles crossing their wrinkled yet ageless faces. Shikenu mwani!, they sing, shikenu mwani! They sing, crossing over to envelop me in three double embraces.

Shikenu mwani! Mwafunta! Twazangalili! You have returned! We are so happy!

Just that moment. Remembering their faces, their hugs, their joy at meeting again. Remembering how much I truly love working with these women. I love working with them because they care. They care about the projects, about learning, about the fact that I have come to teach them, about making projects work, together. They care that I was, am, and will be here. They are so excited for my return.

I can’t wipe the smile from my face throughout the meeting. Seated on the simple wooden church benches, they actively turn the small talk towards the meeting, they inform the others that their meeting is started, and we begin discussing their ground nut cultivation project. They want to plant one field this year, and use the proceeds form that field to buy more seed to grow soya bean next year. This is their idea, not mine. They care. They want to make this work. They want to continue working, they are excited, so excited.

And now I have spaced out, because their Lunda has sped up in their excitement and they are talking over each other, and collecting their ideas and writing down who has donated and collecting any money that is left to collect and finishing each others sentences and I have lost them in their emotion.

I smile. One notices, stops them, shows them I have lost them. They slow, bring me back to their conversation, explain their excitement.

I smile, I can’t stop smiling.

Some days can be made so great. A few words, a feeling, a smile. A group of women that never stop surprising me. Returning to site and knowing that it is for a reason. I smile.

My favorite women, learning to cook eggs with veg.
My favorite women, learning to cook eggs with veg.
2 thoughts on “A Post About a Smile”

Leave a Reply

